Sealed With a Kiss 15

I go straight to a barstool in this beer and pizza joint.  The mood is as nasty as youd expect after the GB loss.  In this culture i’d expect a live band doing polkas but maybe theyre getting drunk too. I will learn later that in coming years that in this timeline there will be conspiracy theories about how this game was rigged by the government or aliens and the same stories will be exploited by the idiots on ESPN.  I guess some part of the heart just knows…

I order a pitcher of beer, which could be a mistake because I could be loaded by the time the food gets here.  I always believed there was no such thing as bad pizza but I was wrong.  But IDC.  I gnaw the stale bread and cheese and tomato paste thing they bring me and order another.  After my blood sugar and alcohol go up i’m in a better mood but I still feel awful.  When i’m honest with myself I know it was this hit.  I’m not getting over it the way I should.  Maybe I should retire.  Imagine that.  Feeling remorse for cold blooded murder.  What’s surprising is that saving the timeline from WWIII doesn’t make me feel better.  Not a bit.

I sip a second glass of beer and think about getting to the ship and going home when there is a feminine little tap on my shoulder.  When I turn around I see a blond girl but the light’s so bad I cant see much.

Do I know you?  I say irritably.  Go away!  I killed Vince Lombardi this morning and I don’t want to be fucked with.  I almost said that.

I think you do, she says warmly, whoever she is.

When I squint my eyes hard enough I see it is Virginia who fucked me by the river.  Ginny, I say.  I never expected to see you again.

What RU doing here?  She says.  I thought you went home for good.

No.  I said I was going back to the future, which semantically makes no sense.  I’m getting a little drunk before I go home, I say.  Hey!

She has taken a seat beside me and put her hand down my pants and is stroking my cock.

If U touch me there again, we’ll have to get married, I say.

There’s a hellish crash in back of this place and someone is pulling a guy who has passed out up and carrying him to the door.  Then the drunk is unceremoniously tossed out into the snow.  He will almost certainly freeze to death.  I am spoiling for a fight and decide i’d much rather be with Ginny than here.

Honey, we can get a room, I say.

No we cant.  There’s nowhere to get.  All the rooms in town are taken because of that stupid game.

Don’t you live alone?  I say.

Her eyes lower and she says, I had to move out and move in with guy that…

Say no more, I say.  If it weren’t so fuckin cold i’d take you in the alley out back and make you give me head, I say, and bury my face in my hands.  Get your coat.  Walk with me.

I put my arm around her waist and hers goes around mine and it feels better than anything I’ve done all day.

Outside and and past the sleeping drunk and into the glassy cold. Sounds carry in exquisite detail.  A dog barks.  And anyone who lets their dog stay out in this ought to be shot.  This is not a great part of this town I guess.  Architecture degenerate hissing back thru the works of man delineating disorder and madness.  Walls of old dark brick.  Tin panes among the glass ones smothering a weak light from a naked bulb within.

I thought Ginny was just a college girl who was a little loose but i’m sure now that was wrong.  She’s not that far from being out on the street pedalling her ass.  And with that comes an outrageous inspiration.

Ginny, come home with me, I say.

Back to the future?  She says. This summer I would’ve given my right nut to live in this time but I think my own has changed drastically.

That’s right.  Back to the future.  What do you have here?  When…I go back the whole place may be different.  Technologies beyond imagination.   That summer I was here I would’ve given my right nut to live here but…but right now all this has a different face.

Can I come back here if I don’t…

NO!   U cannot come back here ever.  Get that out of your head right now!  If they even suspect you’ll try you’ll end up in a gulag.  Even if things are as good as they should be they’ll be paranoid about someone hijacking a timeship and escaping.  That’s why if they’re smart they’ll destroy this technology because it isn’t needed and will be nothing but trouble.  That’s what i’m going to recommend.  And if things are no better they might just take you out and shoot you.

What if things are so bad we cant go back there?

Then we have a timeship at our disposal and can go anywhere/when.  With you it wont be so bad.  Think fast because once we get there you can never go home.

That is to say it’s always better to have a slut along because you can have her do things you couldn’t.

Unburdened by the convoluted intelligence I labor under she says, Sure honey.  There’s nothing here.

Then let’s move faster.  The ship’s a block away and I have never been cold before in my life.  Until today.

We just have turned a corner when three guys abreast in face masks are in our way.

Excuse us, I say politely.  They stink of beer and I hope this isn’t what it could be.

It is, though.  Whenever we try to go around them they block our way and I know I am going to have to fight all three of them.  Ginny has my arm in a deathgrip and I have to yank it away and think of how to deal with this.

Leave a Reply

