Ramblings About Dylan

Early this morning I got the news that Bob Dylan won the Nobel for Literature for 2016.  Maybe it’s just me, but this is a very big deal.  I posted it on FB and got one like.  Everybody else was busy slinging political shit, getting more wound up as they went on about an election whose outcome is all but a foregone conclusion.  I backed away from this, not wanting to make it worse.  I did make a couple of witty remarks that people liked, just to slow things down.  Maybe it helped.

It just served to remind me how out of phase I am with everything and how it seems to get worse with time.  This Nobel is just something that I never thought I would live to see, like when the Braves won the World Series.  Someone at Nobel referred to Dylan’s work as being sort of like poetry.  Actually it’s different.  Poetry rhymes words where song lyrics rhyme syllables.  Take it from someone who has written both.

But this is quibbling.  It’s a great day that I’m glad to see and that is that.  It even motivated me to work on the next chapter of Roswell which I havent added to in weeks. Fan fiction is much more complicated than I would have dreamed but writing it gives me a purpose that lately I have lacked.

As to why I wrote this I guess I just thought that a lot needed to be said about this instead of almost nothing, which is what seems to have happened today.  During the summer of 2009 when I was writing Destiny Road I was listening to Blood on the Tracks and realized that the whole story’s language was inspired in part from Dylan’s worldview.  And I remember playing Girl of the North Country on a Yamaha guitar at parties when i was in college.  I got to sing Dylan’s part because I did a better Dylan than my room mate, who was stuck singing Johnny Cash.

I’m rambling, which is what happens when I’m not writing regularly.  I guess I’ll stop.  Spotify finally got a Dylan playlist today.

Leave a Reply

